Shayne’s Books

Sentence of Marriage
Mud and Gold
Settling the Account
A Second Chance
Daisys War
After the Roses
All I Want
Work in Progress


Thanks for visiting.

I write historical novels set in New Zealand. The first book, Sentence of Marriage, begins in 1881, and the most recently completed, After the Roses, takes the series to 1924. Sentence of Marriage is available as a free download through various retail outlets.

While the characters and their stories are my own invention, the broader setting is the real New Zealand of the period, with actual, historical events; from major ones like the Tarawera eruption, the baby farming scandal and the extension of suffrage to women through to relatively local events such as the great Bay of Plenty floods of 1892.

This site gives some extra background to the setting of the books. I’ve also included several chapters from an earlier version of Sentence of Marriage, giving a little more detail of the events in Amy’s life in the months before the book begins.